Boredom, Part I

Ruth Donnelly (Readatouille) is right that middle-grade readers, just like the rest of us, deserve  and demand the show-don’t-tell approach to writing.

Donnelly cites this example:. Rather than saying Skye was bored, The Penderwicks author Jeanne Birdsall writes, “Skye was blowing out her cheeks and imitating a fish, which meant she was even more bored than Rosalind had feared.”

I must say I do find myself blowing out my cheeks and imitating a fish more often than I like.

Leave a Reply

